October 21, 2019
Visa tips

Vietnam Visa exemption granted for citizens from seven nations

The Government has issued Decision No. 99/NQ-CP on visa exemption in a definite period for citizens from the Russian Federation, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Regardless of their passports and purposes, citizens from these nations will be exempted from visas to temporarily stay in Viet Nam for a maximum time of 15 days.

The policy, valid within five years from January 1, 2015 till December 31, 2019, will be considered to be extended based on Viet Nam’s regulations.

Currently, Viet Nam allows nationals of 17 countries to enter Viet Nam without a visa for varying time periods. These nations include

Brunei, Cambodia, Denmark, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Norway, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden and Thailand.

Other special visa exemptions will also be given to citizens of France and Chile holding valid diplomatic or official passports for visits of 90 days at the maximum or several visits of 6 months at the maximum and APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) holders from Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) member economies for visits of 60 days at the maximum.

In addition, foreigners and Vietnamese nationals bearing foreign passports who enter Viet Nam through an international border gate and then travel to Phu Quoc Island and stay in Phu Quoc less than 30 days will also be granted visa exemption.

Vietnam Visa Exemption List (Valid from 1 Jan, 2015)


Time allows to stay without a Vietnam Visa


14 days


30 days


15 days


15 days


30 days


15 days


not stipulated


30 days


30 days


14 days


15 days


21 days


15 days


30 days

South Korea

15 days


15 days


30 days


Read the Decision No. 99/NQ-CP on visa exemption in a definite period for citizens from the Russian Federation, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland (Vietnamese Version)


All visitors travel to Phu Quoc Island can stay in the island up to 30 days without a visa. Visitor who want to stay for 30 days visa-free in Phu Quoc island are required to stay within the island for maximum 30 days then exit to for home country or another countries.

From 01 Feb, 2019, Vietnam Immigration Department has added more 35 countries to the Vietnam e-visa program, including Hong Kong (China) and Macau (China). But until now the Vietnam e-visa system is just updated for old version of Hong Kong passport – passport number starts with letter “K”.

From 01 Feb, 2019, Citizens of Hong Kong can apply for Vietnam eVisa online. Below is everything you need to know about Vietnam eVisa for citizens of Hong Kong (China).

Vietnam government has decided to extend visa waivers program for visitors from the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy and Spain. This information was announced by the Minister, Chairman of the Government Office Mai Tien Dung announced at the meeting on 03 June, 2017.

It is great for us to inform that from December 15, 2016, all types of Vietnam visa will be available again for US citizens. As you know, from 01 September, 2016, just 1 type of Vietnam Visa is available for US citizens, that is 1 year multiple entries Visa.