January 14, 2020
Visa tips

There Are Now 67 Countries That Offer Visa-Free Access to Philippine Passport Holders

Holders of the Philippine passport are now eligible to enter 67 countries without the need to apply for a visa. According to the data gathered by Henley Passport Index, the Philippines has moved higher in the Passport Index ranking. In 2019, Philippine citizens were on the 76th spot of the ranking. This makes them at par with the citizens of Azerbaijan.

The neighboring countries of the Philippines also took the higher spots in the ranking this year. For instance, Indonesia is now on the 72nd spot. Meanwhile, Thailand is on the 65th spot while Timor Leste is on the 57th spot. Brunei is on 23rdand Malaysia is on the 13th spot.

Japan is On the Top Spot

The country that’s on the top spot of the recent Global Passport Ranking is still Japan. It has visa-free access to a total of 191 destinations. Following Japan is Singapore, which has access to 190 countries without the need for them to apply for a visa.

The Henley Passport Index was behind the compilation of this list. It ranks passports according to the number of countries that a certain nationality can visit without getting a visa. According to them, they based the ranking from the exclusive data they have gathered from the International Air Transport Association.

The organization has one of the world’s biggest and largest databases of travel information. This was further enhanced by the researches conducted by the Research Department of Henley & Partners.

Countries Where Philippine Passport Holders Can Enter Without Visa

  • Vietnam
  • Vanuatu
  • Thailand
  • Taiwan
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines Suriname
  • Singapore
  • Senegal
  • Rwanda
  • Peru
  • Palestinian Territory
  • Niue
  • Myanmar
  • Morocco
  • Mongolia
  • Micronesia
  • Malaysia
  • Macao
  • Laos
  • Kazakhstan
  • Israel
  • Indonesia
  • Hong Kong
  • Haiti
  • Gambia
  • Fiji
  • Ecuador
  • Dominica
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Costa Rica
  • Cook Islands
  • Colombia
  • Cambodia
  • Brunei
  • Brazil
  • Bolivia
  • Barbados

Visa on Arrival

Aside from the list of countries above where Philippine passport holders can enter without a visa, there are also countries that give Filipinos the privilege to enter through a Visa on Arrival option.

  • Uganda
  • Tuvalu
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Togo
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tanzania
  • Tajikistan
  • St. Lucia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Somalia
  • Seychelles
  • Samoa
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Palau Islands
  • Nicaragua
  • Nepal
  • Mozambique
  • Mauritius
  • Mauritania
  • Marshall Islands
  • Maldives
  • Malawi
  • Madagascar
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Kenya
  • Iran
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Comoros Islands
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Armenia

Electronic Visa for Philippine Passport Holders

There are also countries that allow Filipino visitors to enter using an electronic visa or e-visa. Below is a list of countries where Philippine citizens can enter using an e-visa:

  • Djibouti
  • India
  • Lesotho
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Uzbekistan
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Seychelles have granted travelers from the Philippines the “visitor’s permit”. With this travel permit, Filipinos can holiday in Seychelles without having to get a visa. Furthermore, Sri Lanka and Pakistan grant Filipinos electronic travel authorization that they can avail as they arrive at the airport.

Vietnam Visa for Citizens of the Philippines

One of the countries where Filipino citizens can visit without the need for a visa is Vietnam. However, they are only allowed to stay in the country for a maximum of 21 days. Furthermore, they must show a ticket stating that they will exit the country before the 21-day period is over.

So if you are from the Philippines and you plan on staying in Vietnam for more than 21 days, you definitely should get a visa to Vietnam. Thankfully, applying for a Vietnam visa for Filipino citizens is now so easy. In fact, they are among those countries that are eligible for the Vietnam e-visa.

The Vietnam e-visa for citizens of the Philippines will allow them to stay for a maximum of 30 days. But if 30 days is not enough, there’s an option to apply for the Visa on Arrival. With this, you can apply for a multiple-entry visa that will let you stay for a maximum of 60 days.

Things to Keep In Mind

Filipinos traveling to any of the visa-free countries stated above must make sure to bring with them their Philippine passport. In addition, it must be valid for at least 6 months from their arrival to the country. Also, there are some countries that might require them to provide other requirements aside from their passport. Therefore, before booking a trip to a certain country, it is very important to research in advance.

If you are traveling to countries that require e-visa for Filipinos, make sure you apply for the e-visa online ahead of your trip. When you are approved of the e-visa, it will usually be sent to you through email. All you need to do is to print and bring it on your trip.

For those who are getting a visa on arrival, find out ahead of time what requirements are needed. Remember, visa rules would change from time to time. Therefore, to avoid issues on your trip, do your research ahead. Find out if the visa-free policy is still applicable. Otherwise, apply for your visa in advance.

TAGS Visa-Free